Stroganoff Brilliance

One of the many foods I have missed are my creamy delicious dinner. My mother made the best Beef Stroganoff. In fact I used to request that for my birthday dinner…in June. My mother refused since it was “off season” so I had to always come up with a second option or wait until it was cold out.

Turkey Stroganoff, I know it may look a bit…interesting but IT’S SO GOOD!

Now I can do whatever I want, but her recipe takes hours and has all kinds of gluten and Dairy… since I’m watching what I eat for both health and Gluten/Dairy issues this is something I skipped until I ran across a food blogger that was new to me…Skinnyms.com. I don’t know about you but I’m always hesitant with new recipe sites since some are…um..well… uh…how to put it delicately?  Ah forget delicate, some have “healthy” recipes that resemble cardboard more than meals. Horrible…but I gave Skinnyms.com a shot and WOW… she wasn’t kidding. This is great. I made a few modifications to her recipe since it had dairy in it and I always have to tinker…but wow.. it’s super super good! Check this out:

Ground Turkey Stroganoff

Ingredients

  • 1 pound ground lean turkey
  • 1 diced onion
  • 4 ounces sliced mushrooms
  • 1 cup fat free chicken broth
  • 1/2 C tomato sauce
  • 1 Tablespoon balsamic vinegar
  • 1/2 teaspoon black pepper (or more to taste)
  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • 1 tsp garlic salt
  • Seasoning Salt to taste
  • 1 cup dairy free sour cream (or she used plain greek yogert)
  • 2 tablespoons cornstarch

Directions

Put tomato sauce, chicken broth, salt, pepper, onion powder, balsamic and garlic salt into a crockpot and stir up. Turn crockpot on low.

 Spray a large skillet with nonstick spray and  cook ground turkey until it loses its pink color, drain off any fat and add to the slow cooker. Spray pan again with your nonstick spray  sauté mushrooms and onions with a sprinkling of Seasoning salt over medium-low heat until tender.

Add mushroom/onion mixture to the slow cooker the remaining. Cover and cook on low 7-8 hours. Combine Greek yogurt with cornstarch, add to Stroganoff and continue cooking 30 minutes. Serve over gluten free pasta, white or brown rice.

Serving size 1 cup of sauce. 6 Points per cup.  Rice or pasta is extra points.

Enjoy! So GOOD!

Leave a Reply

