Tic Tac Controversy

I was happily chomping on a box of orange tic tacs at work today when one of my colleagues stops by and says “hey, those have gluten in them ya know!” I looked up shocked. ” They can’t can they?” I asked. He just nodded and walked away. Ah pooey, Mr. Grimgluten reaper!  But now I can’t get the idea out of my head, so I’m looking it up and it seems they have CORN gluten not WHEAT gluten.

Image from pennypinchinmom.com

I guess it’s to be a day of learning because I didn’t realize gluten wasn’t specific to Wheat products exclusively… but now I wonder when my Doc said “no gluten” if she knew this an meant no on corn or wheat. After reading a bit,  it seems that Corn Gluten is a misused term so she probably didn’t mean avoid it.. So weird.

Here is how I found out about the claim they are gluten free: http://www.tictacusa.com/sections/faq/index.swf

Corn Gluten is assumed okay for Celiac’s and other GF Folks http://www.celiac.com/articles/186/1/Corn-Gluten—Is-it-Safe-for-a-People-with-Celiac-Disease-Who-are-on-a-Gluten-Free-Diet/Page1.html

2 responses to “Tic Tac Controversy

  1. Thanks for the post! Will keep an eye out for mislabeling!

  2. (corn gluten has nothing to do with Celiac Disease or the “gluten” part of gluten intolerance…. good luck and please always do tons of research to keep yourself safe! Cheers.)

Leave a Reply

