Not Shrimpy on Flavor

I adore my time with my girlfriends more than I can say. This weekend we had our bi-yearly get away but because we are in the NW we got snowed in, unable to make it over the penninsula. SO, we made the best of it and stayed at one of our lovely homes…on a houseboat! Every time we do one of these weekends, all 5 of us each make a different meal/course and we all share food, drink wine, play games, laugh, chatter, discuss and did I mention laugh?

Image & Recipe courtesty of Ocean Garden Products

Well lucky me, I have fantastic friends that also work with me on my dietary issues and always make things I can eat as well which is no easy feat. This weekend had three lovely treats involved, but I only have one recipe at this point. I’ll share the others because they were all fabu. We had Banana Bread, Mojito Sorbet and Shrimp Scampi! Yeah, seriously… my friends are AWESOME.

So, if you are up for cooking an incredible yet fairly easy dish, this shrimp is the bomb (and was gobbled up right away!)

Shrimp Scampi
Ingredients:
1.5 lbs of raw peeled, deveined shrimp
1/4 C Olive Oil
2 small garlic cloves minced
2 small red peppers cut into strips
1 C onion thinly sliced
2 small green peppers cut into strips
1/2 C tomato sauce
1/4 C choped parsley
1/8 C capers
Salt and pepper to taste

Heat oil in a large pan then add the garlic, cook until fregrant (about 30 Seconds) Add the shrimp tossing it occaisionally. When the srhip are done (when they turn pink), remove them and put to the side. (Do not overcook!)

Add peppers and onion to skillet, saute them together until the onion is trasclucent and the peppers are tender. Add tomato sauce and parsley and stir them in well.

Return the shrimp to the pan, cover and simmer for two to three minutes, Sprinkle with salt, pepper and capers.

Great served over rice! Makes about 6 servings (although we 5 girls at it all!)

4 responses to “Not Shrimpy on Flavor

  1. Nice, I love me some shrimp scampi. Thanks for sharing. Bring some to class next time too. 🙂

  2. Girls’ getaway on a houseboat sounds divine! Y’all need a new girlfriend! And I can bring fresh shrimp, lol!

  3. Pingback: Shrimp Scampi for two…my Valentine’s Day dinner! « Gluten-free Medley

  4. Pingback: Parsley | Find Me A Cure

Leave a Reply

