Gaining the Good with the Bad

I have been happy about getting my body into better shape, about being more comfortable asking for what I need while eating out and creating healthier foods that work for my body. These are all wins for me…and I felt good about this weekend I figured out how to make some great twice baked potatoes within my foods, adding soy cream cheese and soy sour cream to fluff them up. It worked really well. Then I topped my guests twice baked potatoes with cheese but left mine as it was. It was so tasty! The recipe is at the end of this post.

Twice Baked Potatoes (only dairy is cheese on this one! Go cheese free!)

Then last night, I was at my mothers, and I had rice pasta with her famous home made spaghetti sauce!  What a great gluten free meal…but the sad part… I weighed in today 😦

Yep, you got it. I gained .25lbs this past week. I know that isn’t much, but clearly I need to get a better handle on it. Either that or I can believe that the pasta made me heavy and next week I’ll have lost 2 lbs, one for each of these weeks. I hope there is weight loss next week.  Right now I’m feeling a bit deflated.

Twice Baked Potatoes (Gluten and Dairy free)

Ingredients:
3 baking potatoes (Baked already)
1/2 C Tofutti cream cheese (softened to room temp)
1/2 C Tofutti Sour Cream (at room temp)
1 Tbsp Olive Oil (I used garlic olive oil)
4 chopped green onions
1 tsp Seasoning Salt
1 tsp Garlic Salt
1 tsp fresh cracked pepper
1 tsp red pepper flakes (to taste)
4 slices of cooked bacon chopped
2 C Grated Cheddar Cheese (for guests)

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 350. Cut baked potatoes in half and scoop out the insides. Add all the following ingredients except the cheese. Mix them well with a mixer or by hand. Do this until the potato is smooth. Once smooth scoop the potato mixture into the potato skins. Then top with cheese for any dairy eaters. Bake in the oven for 20-30 minutes until warmed all the way through, and cheese is melted on any dairy eaters potato.

Let cool and Enjoy!

6 responses to “Gaining the Good with the Bad

  1. Don’t beat yourself up Missy!

  2. Stop weighing yourself unless it’s under Dr’s orders. Your weight is pointless. It should be how you feel that matters. When I was going to the gym 5 – 6 days a week and was in the best shape of my life, I was actually “Obese” according to the chart in my Dr’s office. Muscle weighs more and looks better than fat. If you’re gaining muscle and becoming more fit, you may very well gain weight.
    At least, if you’re gonna weigh yourself, don’t let it weigh on your psyche too.

    • You do have a point! I get that totally, I just want my clothes to fit again and that isn’t muscle that is making them too tight. Yowzah! I agree though, that weight is a tough way to gauge, but it gives me something to track.

  3. Have you checked out Bob’s Red Mill products (http://www.bobsredmill.com/Gluten-Free)? They have a bunch of gluten free products and recipes for gluten or dairy free.

  4. I wouldn’t beat yourself up about that weight, though I totally understand why it’s disappointing. But really .25 lbs could be a little water retention. Hopefully things will settle down this next week for you.

Leave a Reply

