Captain Picky Pants Eats Out

Last night was girls night out. So, I had to take on the eating out challenge on again.  We walked into Daniels in South Lake Union with my girlfriends with some hesitancy in having to deal with food outside of my home. I have been to Daniels many times and enjoy their food, but never when I was paying any attention to my allergies or weight. I always worry since I really hate being a bother and seeming like Captain Picky Pants. But because of this blog, I got some courage and I decided to give it a gluten/dairy free go again.

The waitress came to our table flipping her long brown hair over her shoulder and my stomach turned into a knot. It was my time to step up and ask my “picky pants” gluten and dairy free question.  To my surprise, not only did the waitress smile and say “Of Course!” But she also rambled off exactly what on the menu was and was not gluten and dairy free. I looked at her in awe, then I tested her knowledge because this seemed WAY too easy.  I asked “What about the Steak Tar Tar?” And she got a big smile on her heart shaped face and said “No, that won’t work for you.  It has soy sauce in it.” Again, curious I asked “But the Tuna you mentioned has ponzu. Doesn’t that have gluten.” Again, she clarified that she knew their menu inside and out, their ponzu had no gluten.

Seared Tuna! *Image from slowfoodkitchen.com

Done and done! I got the wonderful low calorie seared tuna and, as my waitress mentioned, removed the won ton wrappers to the side of the plate. It was not only a fantastic, low calorie meal and a fun evening with my friends, but it was yet another great experience.  Now I can not help but wonder, was I just overly sensitive before or has public view changed so much that I am no longer seen as picky, but as someone they wish to help? I’m not sure but I love the help and the ease of eating out!

2 responses to “Captain Picky Pants Eats Out

  1. I think the public view has changed quite a bit in the last year or two. Celiac’s or other issues with gluten intolerance are known and accepted. Two or three years ago there were few places I ever noticed with alternatives.

    P.S. I’m glad the hair flip turned out to be a false alarm. 🙂

  2. I’m guessing that restaurants have gotten a lot more sensitive. It’s good that the waitress was knowledgeable about the menu. Otherwise, that can be a real tummy twister.

Leave a Reply

